Прес-центр ВНТУ 18.08.2019, 00:28

The European Investment Bank will provide 120 million euros to enhance power efficiency at Ukrainian universities. This Financial agreement between Ukraine and the EIB was ratified by the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine on November 8

The project was initiated and developed by the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine jointly with the EIB to help Ukrainian universities utilize power more efficiently. According to the agreement, the total cost of the project is 160 million euros. The EIB provides the loan in 120 million, the investment grant from the Fund of the Eastern Partnership in Energy Efficiency and Environment (E5P) is 10 million, and the North Environmental Finance Corporation (NEFCO) has agreed to loan the rest 30 million. Loan funds are given for 20 years with a 5-year grace period.


Seven universities were selected to participate in the first stage:

o the National Technical University “Lviv Polytechnic”

o Poltava National Technical University named after Yurii Kondratiuk

o Chernihiv National Technological University

o Sumy State University

o the National Pedagogical University named after M. Drahomanov

o the National Technical University “Kharkiv Polytechnic Institute”

o Vinnytsia National Technical University.


These universities carried out a power audit, on the basis of which the scope of work for each project was determined. At the moment, the preparation of specific recommendations as well as the design and estimate documentation is underway. In general, it is planned to involve 147 buildings to save power and optimize management processes of power consumption.


According to the project, the participating universities must achieve the highest educational and research standards, improve their own financial base and significantly reduce power consumption.


The agreement also provides the second stage of the project aimed at improving power efficiency and purchasing equipment for research laboratories of the universities. The competition to select its participants will be announced by the Ministry of Education and Science in the near future.


The press-service of the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine